Tuesday, February 21, 2017

Prince Of Honor Blog Tour & Giveaway ~ Feb. 19-25 ~Get It While It's H.o.T.!


Could the bargain they made to save their lives become their reality?

Turow . . .

Strong, silent man of integrity content to serve his new king as a prince in the turbulent shape-shifter House of Terriot. A tracker and relentless hunter, he’s used to running trails alone until charged with returning a traitor to their mountain top home to face the unforgiving judgment of their clan. Isolated with the bad girl he’s loved forever, the choice between duty and desire has never been more difficult . . . or deadly.

Sylvia . . .

Manipulative schemer or victim caught between a mother’s ambition and a rogue prince’s lust for power? Trust is almost as foreign as the idea of love, but to save herself from certain death, she must risk both on the good man who deserves them . . . from someone worthy. Trapped by the only one who believes in her goodness, she must betray him and run for her life . . . or stay and destroy him with a long hidden truth.

Prince of Honor
House of Terriot (Book 1)
Just $0.99 for a Limited Time!
By Nancy Gideon
Genre: Paranormal | Romance
Release Date: October 21, 2016
Length: 311 Pages



"Sexy suspense at its best!  Warning:  The Terriot Princes are highly addictive!"
Excerpt

The hunter becomes the prey, a prisoner to his own desire . . .
It was early. Faint daylight crept in through cracks in the curtains, but the room was still quite dark.
Turow couldn’t move. Couldn’t manage more than a quiet moan. His body wouldn’t respond, his mind refusing to engage. A huge weight of sated bliss layered over him, making simple actions impossible. Every breath he took reminded him why.
The covers tossed over his naked body held her unique smell. His tongue still tasted her. But it was what he didn’t feel that finally goaded him into awareness.
Her heat didn’t rest beside him. In fact, the sheet was cold.
Empty.
He tried to sit up but something jerked him down. That something a metal bracelet about his wrist, shackling him to the bed frame. His hazy mind recoiled in surprise. How could she have gotten to the key where it lay a room away in the pocket of his coat?
Alert and now wary, Turow let his senses sharpen before opening his eyes to a sight that scarred him, heart and soul.
Sylvia stood on the other side of their shabby room, dressed in her castoff clothes, her lovely, kiss-bruised lips narrowed, her expression carefully masked. She met his gaze directly, hers betraying nothing.
Because they were not alone.
“The Terriot Princes . . . Holy Hotness. There is so much deliciousness between all them it’s hard not to drool!” – Sara Kate, Goodreads

Book Trailer



Prince of Power (House of Terriot - Book 2)



Prince of Power
House of Terriot (Book 2)
By Nancy Gideon
Pre-Order
Genre: Paranormal | Romance
Release Date: February 27, 2017
Length: 284 Pages

Obsessed with an enemy - the only female to ever walk away from him . . .

Colin . . . Prince in the House of Terriot

Brawny, cynical negotiator for his clan, Colin Terriot sees a move to New Orleans as an escape from a painful past and his reputation as a legendary lover. What he didn't expect was to fall hard for a rival spy, the female who tricked and betrayed him by leaving his bed for his brother's. Now, he now must work with her, up close and personal, as the envoy for her clan. Things are about to heat up.

Determined to have him - even if having him means losing all . . .

Mia . . . Strong-willed Guedry heir

Denied her rightful legacy, Mia Guedry plans to stake her claim over the bodies of those who killed her family. But best laid plans fall before her desire for the one male she can't resist, the one who will never trust her once burned by her necessary deceptions. Saving her Terriot prince from plans already in motion may cost more than her inheritance . . . the price could be her life.


Deadly, Damaged, and Delicious!
Brothers too H.o.T. to Handle!

"BEWARE - Things are heating up in New Orleans!  Hold onto your heart (& panties, Ladies) . . . The Terriot princes are back!"
Prince of Power Review

About Nancy Gideon







Nancy Gideon is the award-winning, bestselling author of 60 romances ranging from historical, regency and series contemporary suspense to paranormal, with a couple of horror screenplays tossed into the mix.  She’s also published under the pen names Dana Ransom, Rosalyn West and Lauren Giddings.  She works full time as a legal assistant in Central Michigan, and when not at the keyboard, feeds a Netflix addiction along with all things fur, fin and fowl. For more information on the author, her books, or the “House of Terriot” and “By Moonlight” series, visit Nancy at the above links.

The Giveaway


a Rafflecopter giveaway
Novel Book Tours


Wednesday, February 1, 2017

Prince of Power (House of Terriots Book 2) Review

Title:  Prince Of Power
Series:  House of Terriot #2 - By Moonlight Spin Off Series
Author:  Nancy Gideon
Release Date:  Feb. 27, 2017
Order Link:  Amazon

My Rating:  5 Sexy, Obsessive 's

My Thoughts:  Hold on to your heart (& panties), Ladies . . . The Terriot Princes are back!


*It was my pleasure to be a BetaReader for this book.


Synopsis:
Obsessed with an enemy - the only female to ever walk away from him . . .

Colin . . . Prince in the House of Terriot

Brawny, cynical negotiator for his clan, Colin Terriot sees a move to New Orleans as an escape from a painful past and his reputation as a legendary lover. What he didn't expect was to fall hard for a rival spy, the female who tricked and betrayed him by leaving his bed for his brother's. Now, he now must work with her, up close and personal, as the envoy for her clan. Things are about to heat up.

Determined to have him - even if having him means losing all . . .

Mia . . . Strong-willed Guedry heir

Denied her rightful legacy, Mia Guedry plans to stake her claim over the bodies of those who killed her family. But best laid plans fall before her desire for the one male she can't resist, the one who will never trust her once burned by her necessary deceptions. Saving her Terriot prince from plans already in motion may cost more than her inheritance . . . the price could be her life.

Review:

Obsession: a persistent disturbing preoccupation with an idea or feeling

Colin Terriot is a man obsessed.  One of the nine remaining princes of the House of Terriots, he has moved to New Orleans as a negotiator for his King, his clan.  As such, he finds himself once again facing his biggest obsession - the lovely but deadly representative of the Guedry clan, Mia Guedry.  The images of her in his bed haunt him . . . but then, so do the images of her in his brother Rico's bed.  Colin knows the heartbreak of betrayal - by Mia as she plays brother against brother, by the mother & family that drove him out of his home as a young boy, by the King he would give his life for. He knows he can never have more than a romp in the hay with Mia, but that doesn't stop him from wanting to make her his own in a more permanent manner.  Will Colin's obsession be the death of him?

Revenge: to inflict harm or injury in return for a wrong

Mia Guedry is a woman looking for revenge.  She's on a mission to claim her rightful place at the head of the Guedry clan.  To do so, Mia has to prove herself tough enough, cold enough to commit the ultimate crime.  She needs information and is willing to do whatever it takes to get it - even sleeping with the enemy while playing brother against brother.  Mia can't afford to go all soft & gooey over the man who steals her breath - the prince she desires more than any other.  The Terriots killed her family. It's up to her to avenge them.  Will her betrayal cost Colin his life?

Prince Of Power is a powerful story of obsession, betrayal, and revenge.  Time is running out for Colin to uncover the traitor living within the House of Terriots.  Time is also running out for Mia to claim the Guedry throne.  All hell breaks loose in New Orleans as age old enemies clash.  Who will be left standing when the dust settles?  Will there ever be a time for Colin & Mia?

Intricately woven plot lines and complex characters carry Prince Of Power to a block buster revelation and ending.  Hearts are broken as betrayals and ulterior motives are disclosed. Fans will love the strong support cast featuring old favorites like Max and Silas from the By Moonlight series representing their clans.  Things are heating up in New Orleans in more ways than one as once again, the Terriot princes strut their stuff while loving, fighting, drinking, dancing, and stealing hearts.  Hold onto your heart (& panties, Ladies) . . . The Terriot princes are back!  Prince Of Power is another Page Burning Must Read!

My Rating:  5 Sexy, Obsessive 's . . . And that's the truth!


Cross My Heart . . . xxx

Sandra



Tuesday, January 31, 2017

IWSG: Writing + Reading . . . Does One Influence the Other?

The Insecure Writer's Support Group is a community of writers who share ideas and encourage other writers. It's a great place to express doubts and concerns as well as offer and receive tribulations and guidance from other writers. IWSG posts the first Wednesday of every month. I think you'll find it to be a great writer's resource that's well worth your time. Be sure to stop by and visit with some of the other IWSG writers/bloggers at IWSG Members.

A great big thank you to our awesome February Co-Hosts: 
Misha Gericke
LK Hill
Juneta Key
Joylene Buter

How has being a writer changed your experience as a reader?

I've been a voracious reader my entire life. Reading - escaping to other worlds - was the only thing that kept me sane through some tough early years. I know it dates me, but I'll admit that during long summers out of school, the highlight of my week was the bookmobile! The selection was limited, but I wasn't picky. I'd read anything! Today, I'm a bit more
selective about what I read, but having said that . . . I'm still a voracious reader often reading and reviewing more than a dozen books each month. My problem is finding a happy balance between reading and writing since they are competing for my time.

I've also always been a writer - although I haven't always pursued writing as a career.  As a young girl, I started off recording my days, weeks, years in a diary . . . again, a form of escape, I think.  While other students bemoaned writing assignments, I welcomed them with vigor and excitement.  I wrote stories, poems, reports, songs - filling notebook after notebook after notebook.  No computer - but somewhere down the road, I got an old manual typewriter and was in heaven! (I still have that typewriter!)  Yes, again that dates me, I know! lol  

Fast forward to today.  I am finally pursuing my writing with determination and consistency . . . making it a priority.  How has that changed my experience as a reader?  For one thing, it's given me a greater appreciation of the awesome talent and work ethnic of many published authors.  I realize the many hours and personal sacrifice it takes to get from Page One to The End and admire anyone who can successfully complete that journey.  I recognize the difference between a good solid book and one that goes the extra mile and just blows me away with the expert weaving of multiple plot lines and well developed characters - one that also utilizes setting to set the mood - almost like another character.  

At the same time, I find myself reading books with a more critical eye than I did before actively pursuing writing.  I'm a more demanding reader, one that expects not perfection - but rather a unique story that holds me enthralled.  In other words, I'm no longer a reader so easily satisfied with the status quo - I want and demand more.  The other thing I'm more aware of is editing issues, including grammar usage and the dreaded typos and spelling errors.  I was, I believe, a bit more forgiving of those type issues in my "pre-writing" days.  Now, they are an immediate turn-off for me.

So yes, being a writer has influenced my reading.  But . . . being a reader has also greatly influenced my writing.  I've discovered some excellent "writing role models" through my reading, and  I strive every day to make sure I offer no less to my own readers.

How has writing changed your experience as a reader?



Omens & Artifacts ~ An Elemental Legacy Novella ~ Available Now!


Omens & Artifacts
An Elemental Legacy Novella
Elizabeth Hunter
Released: January 31st, 2017

In the elemental world, reputation is everything, but gaining it can get you killed. Setting up shop as an antiquities hunter means nothing if you don’t have clients. Benjamin Vecchio, nephew of a famed vampire assassin, is the subject of widespread speculation, but so far that speculation hasn’t translated into work. What Ben needs is a job. A big job. A profitable job. A legendary job. Finding the lost sword of Brennus the Celt, the mythical Raven King of the British Isles, would make Ben’s reputation in the immortal world, but it could also draw dangerous attention. The Raven King’s gold hoard isn’t famous for being easy to find. Luckily, Ben has his own legend at his side. Tenzin is a wind vampire who doesn’t like digging, but she’s more than happy to let Ben do the dirty work while she provides the muscle he needs to make other immortals pay attention. They’re partners. Or so Ben thinks. But when finding this treasure puts Tenzin’s future plans at risk, will their partnership survive? Tenzin isn’t used to taking orders from anyone, particularly from a young human who used to be her student. Digging into ancient Scottish history can get you dirty. It can also get you killed.

Purchase Links
GoodReads
Social Media Links
Newsletter
Newsletter subscribers get to know first! New subscribers also get a free short story exclusive to newsletter subscribers and a special monthly newsletter only story, Linx & Bogie.
   
About Elizabeth
ehbiopic
ELIZABETH HUNTER is a contemporary fantasy, paranormal romance, and paranormal mystery author. She is a graduate of the University of Houston Honors College and a former English teacher. She once substitute taught a kindergarten class, but decided that middle school was far less frightening. She's the author of the Elemental Mysteries, the Irin Chronicles, and the Cambio Springs Mysteries.  

Saturday, January 28, 2017

The Dry Review



Title:  The Dry
Author:  Jane Harper
Publisher:  Flatiron Books
Release Date:  May 31, 2016
Buy Link:  Amazon

My Rating:  5 Flammable 's







Synopsis:
A small town hides big secrets in this atmospheric, page-turning debut mystery by an award-winning new author.
After getting a note demanding his presence, Federal Agent Aaron Falk arrives in his hometown for the first time in decades to attend the funeral of his best friend, Luke. Twenty years ago when Falk was accused of murder, Luke was his alibi. Falk and his father fled under a cloud of suspicion, saved from prosecution only because of Luke’s steadfast claim that the boys had been together at the time of the crime. But now more than one person knows they didn’t tell the truth back then, and Luke is dead.
Amid the worst drought in a century, Falk and the local detective question what really happened to Luke. As Falk reluctantly investigates to see if there’s more to Luke’s death than there seems to be, long-buried mysteries resurface, as do the lies that have haunted them. And Falk will find that small towns have always hidden big secrets.
Review:
Twenty years ago, Aaron Falk and his father left their home in the small farming community of Kiewarra, Australia, behind in a cloud of dust, suspicion, and threats.  A young girl was dead and tension ran high as alibi's were questioned.  Two decades later, Federal Financial Investigator Aaron Falk receives an ominous note demanding his presence at the funeral of his old childhood friend Luke Hadler who apparently shot and killed his wife Karen and his young son Billy before turning the gun on himself.  The farming community is experiencing the worse drought in a century, causing the land and its people to be highly volatile...living on prayers and only a hair trigger away from financial ruin and violence.  

Aaron's return to town raises old suspicions, doubts, and vicious rumors.  Once again, he becomes the center of accusations and vandalism amidst rumors he was involved in the death of Ellie Deacon, but Falk is no longer the broken sixteen year old boy who was once driven out of town.  Upon the request of Luke Hadler's parents, Aaron joins forces with local police officer Sgt. Raco to unofficially investigate the murders.  What they untangle is a tightly woven web of lies and deceit surrounding both the death of Ellie 20 years ago and the supposed suicide/murder of the Hadler family.  Are the murders connected?  Can alibis and smoke screens forged twenty years ago be broken?

The Dry is a well written psychological thriller that grabbed my attention in the first line of the Prologue and held it through the last line on the final page.  The tinder dry, flammable landscape of this farming community is beautifully depicted, rich in images that readily transport the reader, forcing them to experience the unrelenting heat, sweat, and utter desperation of the people.  The intriguing cast of characters is depicted in such a way that readers become intimate with each one, even as they eye them suspiciously trying to figure out who-done-it.  Through a maze of twists and turns and flashbacks, skeletons are rattled and grudges revived as Harper reveals the story of two murders 20 years apart.  It's hard to believe that The Dry is this author's debut novel . . . yes, it's that good!  A Must Read!!

My Rating:  5 Flammable 's . . . And that's the truth!


Cross My Heart . . . xxx

Sandra

Tuesday, January 24, 2017

The Devil's Daughter by Katee Robert ~ Spotlight, Review, & Giveaway

THE DEVIL’S DAUGHTER
 by Katee Robert

FBI agent, Eden Collins is going home... to catch a killer.  Fans of Audey Harte’s It Takes One and Kendra Elliott's Bone Secrets series, will devour The Devil’s Daughter, the fast-paced and suspenseful first book, in the Hidden Sins series by NYT and USA Today Bestselling Author Katee Robert.

My Rating:  4 Chilling 's

Read Full Review & Excerpt Below


Title: The Devil’s Daughter
Author: Katee Robert
Series: Hidden Sins #1
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Release Date: January 24, 2017
Publisher: Montlake Romance
Print Length:  316 pages
Format: Digital and Paperback
ISBN: 1503940918

Synopsis:
Growing up in a small town isn’t easy, especially when you’re the daughter of a local cult leader. Ten years ago, Eden Collins left Clear Springs, Montana, and never once looked back. But when the bodies of murdered young women surface, their corpses violated and marked with tattoos worn by her mother’s followers, Eden, now an FBI agent, can’t turn a blind eye. To catch the killer, she’s going to have to return to the fold.

Sheriff Zach Owens isn’t comfortable putting Eden in danger, even if she is an elite agent. And he certainly wasn’t expecting to be so attracted to her. As calm and cool as she appears, he knows this can’t be a happy homecoming. Zach wants to protect her—from her mother, the cult, and the evil that lurks behind its locked gates. But Eden is his only key to the tight-lipped group, and she may just be closer to the killer than either one of them suspects…

Get More information at:  Goodreads  | Amazon | Barnes & Noble



New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Katee Robert learned to tell her stories at her grandpa’s knee. She found romance novels at age twelve and it changed her life. When not writing sexy contemporary and speculative fiction romance novels, she spends her time playing imaginary games with her wee ones, driving her husband batty with what-if questions, and planning for the inevitable zombie apocalypse.  Connect with Katee at: Website | Facebook | Twitter| GoodReads | Instagram


Be sure to enter the Rafflecopter giveaway!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Review:

FBI Agent Eden Collins never expected to return to the home she escaped years ago - the small town of Clear Springs and Elysia, a cult led by her mother Martha Collins.  Eden still has nightmares of growing up under the power and control of a cult that did not provide the simple, happy life it promised.  Eden knows the evil secrets concealed behind those walls all too well as she still bears the ritualistic cult tattoos upon her skin and still remembers how they were forced on her as she struggled screaming.  Now Eden's been lured back to Elysia by an emailed picture of a dead girl bearing an eery resemblance to her - one bearing the same tattoos on her tortured skin.  Who sent her the picture?  What do they want from her?  Will she survive a trip back inside those walls?

Sheriff Zach Owens, former Marine, accepted a job in Clear Springs trying to escape his own nightmares in a small town where nothing ever happens.  And now, he's suddenly faced with the task of hunting down a serial killer.  His gut says it's all tied to the cult . . . it also tells him to be wary of the cult leader's daughter Eden who mysteriously showed back up in town just after the first murder - the same daughter he's strangely attracted to.  Can he trust her?  Is he willing to risk her life to stop a killer?

The Devil's Daughter is a chilling read with twists and turns that kept me turning the pages well into the night.  The Greek myth of Demeter and Persephone plays out during the story as the cult beliefs are woven around a version of the myth . . . one that includes Eden playing the part of Persephone.  Intriguing characters, smoke screens, and chilling stop-your-heart moments keep the suspense high as this story plays out.  I had formed an idea of who was or more accurately who wasn't involved in the killings, but I in no way saw the shocking conclusion before hand.  The Devil's Daughter is a gritty, well-written mystery suspense and a great start to this series.  A Must Read!

My Rating:  4 Chilling 's . . . And that's the truth!


Cross My Heart . . . xxx

Sandra

Excerpt:
“This is stupid. Get out of the car. Get out of the car right now.”
She threw her body into motion, half-afraid that if she didn’t force herself to move, she’d sit there until someone decided to report her for being creepy. Who am I kidding? The people in this place are just as likely to knock on the window and ask me if I need any help.
The fall air had a little bite to it, and she closed her eyes and inhaled deeply. Home.
No. It’s not home. It’ll never be home again.
She’d made a life for herself in the FBI, and if she didn’t have much in the way of roots . . . Well, she’d left the possibility of roots behind when she left Clear Springs. Most days it didn’t even bother her that much. She was doing good in the world, using her nontraditional childhood to give her an edge that had helped her make a name for herself over the last six years in the cult division. She was Eden Collins, FBI agent. She wasn’t that scared little girl. Not anymore.
One step at a time, she made her way into the police station. She’d half expected it to be a whirl of motion, with people rushing here and there, trying to come to terms with the fact that death had touched their small town. But there was no one in the room except a man sitting behind the desk in the corner, glaring at the phone on his desk.
Zach Owens.
The golden boy of Clear Springs in every sense. His blond hair was still cropped short, hearkening back to his days as a marine, and his body was obviously well taken care of. This wasn’t a man who’d let his years working in a sleepy little town turn him soft.
While Zach took her in, she conducted her own perusal. She’d never met him personally, but she knew him by reputation and pieces of information stolen via eavesdropping. He’d gone off to war a boy and come back a man with shadows in his eyes. Or maybe she was just seeing him with rose-tinted glasses, the tragic figure representing everything she’d never have. Acceptance. Loyalty. The love of the people here.
Something like jealousy curled through her stomach. It was silly and childish and she was better than that, but it was hard not to resent someone who so obviously fit. Eden had done a bit of traveling since she’d turned eighteen and run as far and fast as she could from her mother, but she’d never found a place that was well and truly hers.
He caught sight of her and narrowed his eyes. “Can I help you?”

Being pinned in place by those blue eyes made her second-guess the intelligence of her plan yet again. It didn’t matter. He needed her help, even if he didn’t know it yet. She stepped forward. “I’m here about the body.”